Cancer

Cancer sucks. I was recently diagnosed with prostate cancer, which if you're gonna get cancer is apparently the one to get, since it has like a 90% survival rate. Mine was caught early (incredibly early in some ways, as I am only in my 40s), and I just went for the removal, kinda like a woman with the breast cancer gene getting a preemptive mastectomy. Of course, the side effects of prostate removal are a tad more annoying tha the side effects of breast removal (I assume, anyways). A catheter for a week. That sucked, but mainly because trying to take a dump with a catheter in is a tremendous hassle. It pulls in weird directions and hurt in very unhappy places. Not to mention the fungal infection I got on the inside of my thigh from the chafing... Then the catheter came out and the real fun begins. I was warned to bring an "adult undergarment" (hereafter more simply referred to as "a diaper") because upon removal of the catheter, I WOULD not have bladder control. And they were right. I probably went through 4 diapers a day the first few days, but things calmed down, and now a month out, I am down to one, and at that primarily for this weird time between 5 and 7 when my urinary tract just decides it's done for the day. (There are "inserts", and that's a whole different thing - you need to wear briefs and only briefs, and they're one-size, which really don't "fit all". Women get a wonderful variety, probably because they already have a supply chain for that variety) So, in the grand scheme of things, I am actually doing pretty well. One month out and I mostly have control of my bladder, I can have some semi-erections with chemical assistance, etc. But it still just sucks.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Crisis Actors and "Viral" Lies